Dr JanSpotlight Series: Dr. Jan Henriksen

Over the first 18 weeks of the new year, we will be conducting one on one interviews with each of our veterinarians in an effort to help you get to know all of them better! In addition to the interview, they will be posting pictures on our facebook account during their week to share some behind the scenes images of their day to day. We hope you enjoy following along!

Up this week is Jan Henriksen, DVM. Dr. Henriksen is one of our ambulatory practitioners, and has been with the practice since 2013. He is splitting his winter between Wellington and NJ, so you might see him at either location, or in the airport!

Q: Tell me about your first meaningful memory with an animal.
A: The large majority of my childhood memories involve animals. Growing up the son of a standarbred horse trainer, I was around horses before I could walk. But, my first real significant memory involves my first dog, a yellow Labrador retriever named Toppy, that my parents had before I was born. I distinctly remember when we went to find her in JFK airport when we moved to the US from Norway and being very happy she made the trip safely with us.

Q: Do you remember a specific moment when you decided you wanted to be an equine vet?
A: I don’t think there was a specific moment but while working with/for my father in his training stable, I had the opportunity to watch and learn from numerous different vets. I always enjoyed watching them work and helping getting the horses back on the racetrack. Watching them help those horses is what made me want to do the same.

Q: What colleges/universities did you attend? When someone asks “where did you go to school?” what do you tell them?
A: I did my undergraduate studies at West Virginia University. I went to veterinary School at Ross University in St Kitts and did my clinical year at the University of Pennsylvania.

Q: Tell me about the animals you own now.
A: We have 3 Labrador retrievers: Raven (8), Ottis (4), and Heidi (1). We also have 2 cats: Tuck (9) and Osi (7). Most of them are named after New York Giants Players. There also a rabbit and a few chickens.

Q: What do you do for fun, outside of work and spend time with your animals?
A: Spend time with my girlfriend, Neva, and the animals, play golf, go to Crossfit, and wood working. I also enjoy doing various projects around the house.

Q: What’s a good book you’ve recently read and enjoyed?
A: Currently reading ‘The Firm’ by John Grisham. I saw the movie but so far the book is better. Basically anything James Patterson or John Grisham writes, I read. Also Jo Nesbo the Norwegian author.

Q: Favorite place you’ve ever traveled to?
A: I always enjoy returning to Norway and hope to someday spend some time there seeing the parts of the country I have not yet seen.

Q: Dream vacation?
A: Alaskan cruise or African Safari

Q: Favorite sports team?
A: New York Giants, despite the 2017 season

Q: What are you currently watching on Netflix?
A: Blue Bloods

Q: Something most people don’t know about me…
A: I lost my hair when I was 10 years old due to an autoimmune condition known as Alopecia Areata.


Recent Posts

About Us

At B.W. Furlong & Associates, we are progressive leaders delivering the ultimate in veterinary care to our equine patients and clients in both the hospital and ambulatory setting. We have several associated practices offering exemplary care and services in New Jersey, Florida, and Virginia