Dr PetrisorSpotlight Series: Dr. Petrisor Baia

Over the first 18 weeks of the new year, we will be conducting one on one interviews with each of our veterinarians in an effort to help you get to know all of them better! In addition to the interview, they will be posting pictures on our facebook account during their week to share some behind the scenes images of their day to day. We hope you enjoy following along!

Up this week is Petrisor Baia, Dr. Med Vet, MS, DACVS. Dr. Baia has recently joined our practice to run our surgery department. He and his family moved from Louisiana and are settling into New Jersey. We are very excited for all of our clients to get to know him; he will be speaking at our Seminars this month, so be sure to register today!

Q: Tell me about your first meaningful memory with an animal?
A: My grandfather’s old bay mare, Stela, was the first horse I ever rode. I was riding her when I was about 7 years old when I fell off at the trot. She calmly turned around and stood still and waited for me to get up again. I have fallen off horses many times since then, but that experience gave me courage to not be afraid and get to know horses better.

Q: Do you remember a specific moment when you decided you wanted to be an equine vet?
A: I was fascinated by, and wanted to learn about horses ever since I can remember but it was mid-high school when I decided to become a vet.

Q: What colleges/universities did you attend? When someone asks “where did you go to school?” what do you tell them?
A: I got my veterinary degree from Banat’s University of Agricultural Sciences and Veterinary Medicine in Timisoara, Romania; Masters degree in biomedical sciences and large animal surgery residency training from Louisiana State University.

Q: Tell me about the animals you own now.
A: I currently have 4 rescued animals: a blue heeler mix, Molda; and 3 cats: Chloe, Georgel and Magdalene. My wife and I are “foster fails”. Molda and her litter were on the side of the road in Louisiana and we decided to take her in and try to find her a home, well, she still lives with us! The cats are also foster fails and we wouldn’t have it any other way.

Q: What do you do for fun, outside of work and spend time with your animals?
A: I try to spend as much time as possible outside, playing with my children, running with the dog, riding my bike, playing tennis, hiking, and fishing.

Q: If you weren’t a vet, what would you do for a living?
A: I am not sure to be honest. It would be something outdoors, maybe a mountain ranger.

Q: Favorite place you’ve ever traveled to?
A: Big Bear Lake in California. I have been there several times, it is beautiful in every season. The best part about it is, it is never crowded and I have many good memories there.

Q: Favorite food?
A: Mediterranean.

Q: Favorite adult beverage?
A: I like a good old beer. Nothing fancy, a nice European beer is perfect. The Czech Republic and Denmark never fail in producing an excellent beer.  

Recent Posts

About Us

At B.W. Furlong & Associates, we are progressive leaders delivering the ultimate in veterinary care to our equine patients and clients in both the hospital and ambulatory setting. We have several associated practices offering exemplary care and services in New Jersey, Florida, and Virginia